After the lecture, there will be a test

Posted: June 26, 2010 in anger management, Christianity, God Journey
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Let circumstances bring you where they will, keep drawing on the grace of God in every conceivable condition you may be in. One of the greatest proofs that you are drawing on the grace of God is that you can be humiliated without manifesting the slightest trace of anything but His grace” (O. Chambers).

In 2010, I’ve been seriously listening to God via Oswald Chambers. I’ve made the Chamber devotional site my home page. So, you know, it’s the first page I see after I click the Internet Explorer icon.

This morning’s devotional reading is kind of IN YOUR FACE and, of course, Chambers has a way with words. He doesn’t mince them. If you know what I mean.

The point I want to make about drawing on the grace of God is that I ain’t there yet. I mean, when He tests me, I fail most of the time. I’ve been failing for 56 years; I’m sure I failed in the womb. Remember that verse: “in sin did my momma conceive me” (Ps. 51:5).  This isn’t hyperbole. I’m trying to tell the truth. But, even in that, I fail.

So, turn on your discerner. Just how reactive are you?  Is there “the slightest trace of anything . . .” (O. C).

Here is a link to O. Chambers classic devotional: http://www.myutmost.org/

Comments
  1. Dena Dyer says:

    I think we all have a long way to go in this regard…I know I do. It’s funny; I submitted a book proposal to publishers not long ago on the subject of how I’ve grown spiritually as a result of humiliation, and none of them thought it was a “sellable” concept. LOL! We all get humiliated, yet we don’t want to talk about it, or how we can grow through it.

    Welcome to HCB. Love your site–esp. the title! 🙂 And I’m a West Texas girl myself. Good to have another one on board the network!

Leave a Reply

